Notes from a Dreamer

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I believe in infinite possibilities. I believe that anything is possible. Sometimes there may be huge, enormous, seemingly insurmountable obstacles, but that doesn’t equate to Impossible. Perhaps an idea has never been done before, but does that make it impossible or simply undone?

What did we think of art before impressionism? How many people once said it was impossible to fly? What did we think of navigating the world before there were engines, cars, roads? How did people communicate before telephones, mobile phones, the World Wide Web? What if no one had ever thought, “Couldn’t there be some better way?”

Collaboration is such an enriching process.

I have nothing against practical people. In fact some of the most important people in my life are practical, realistic & grounded individuals who are far more intelligent when it comes to engaging in even basic, functional skills. My problem is that I may have ideas for how I want something to look, but I don’t necessarily have the skill to build the look. I appreciate practical people for their reliability, for their technical skill, for their straightforwardness – I simply wish that there could be some way for a dreamer to more easily communicate with a pragmatist.

Perhaps I just read too much about Quantum Physics & practiced too much yoga when I was in my early 20’s to believe that anything is “impossible”…

“Newtonian physics and quantum mechanics are partners in a double irony.¬† Newtonian physics is based upon the idea of laws which govern phenomena and the power inherent in understanding them, but it leads to impotence in the face of a Great Machine, which is the universe. Quantum Mechanics is based upon the idea of minimal knowledge of future phenomena (we are limited to knowing probabilities) but it leads to the possibility that our reality is what we choose to make it.”

Gary Zukav ~ The Dancing Wu Li Masters

About Joyce Englander

I teach weekly yoga classes in New York City, which focus on moving mindfully and gracefully with the breath. I believe that learning yoga is similar to learning a language, and the more you are around it the more fluent you become. This blog is an opportunity to share my thoughts and re-visit lessons from class; to create a bridge for students to translate their classroom experience into real life. I am interested in how practicing yoga can help to improve people's lives and reduce needless suffering.
This entry was posted in Breathe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

