Love comes in unexpected packages

Celebrating the beauty of the little things

Although this may be a hallmark holiday, anyone who woke up for the 7 am class this morning was greeted by pink clouds and a velvety morning like a romantic wish from Mother Nature. What is romance after all but a spirit of finding the fanciful in your Monday? Happy Valentine’s Day everyone.

Special Delivery: Please make regular deposits and withdrawals

What if our hearts are like a bank? Our metaphorical yoga hearts, that is. What would be the currency? Love? Forgiveness? Compassion? Trustworthiness? Generosity?

If Love could accumulate like dollar bills every time we pay close attention to the details, say sorry, overcome fear, or take a fulfilling breath then would we all realize how easy it is to feel wealthy, prosperous, and secure?

Love

I have an ongoing question, which I have been trying to answer my whole life: What is Love? As far as I know, I am not alone in this inquiry. The more often I ask the question the more I learn about the answer. My favorite realization has been that Love needs fascination as much as fascination needs love. I also realize that Love is so profound that its definition can span everywhere from the quickest burst of desire to the slowest, most enduring burn. As far as I can tell my actions are like fuel for this metaphorical fire, and what I put into my relationships whether it be kindling, damp wood, dura flame, or gasoline like actions all will yield an expected result.

A Valentine’s Resolution

I am sure that I can do a better job of letting my friends and family know how remarkable I know them all to be. I feel honored to be a witness for so many people’s lives & I resolve to do a better job of expressing my kind observations to those whom I have the pleasure of sharing this life with.

A little Wish

May we all be awake for those times when Love does come in an unexpected package – a little surprise from life when paying attention but not looking.

About Joyce Englander

I teach weekly yoga classes in New York City, which focus on moving mindfully and gracefully with the breath. I believe that learning yoga is similar to learning a language, and the more you are around it the more fluent you become. This blog is an opportunity to share my thoughts and re-visit lessons from class; to create a bridge for students to translate their classroom experience into real life. I am interested in how practicing yoga can help to improve people's lives and reduce needless suffering.
This entry was posted in Breathe, Think On These Things and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

