By Intuition

“But the trouble was that though the work absorbed my mind, it used very little else. And I am by now convinced that wisdom is not the product of mental effort. Wisdom is a state of the total being, in which capacities for knowledge and for love, for survival and for death, for imagination, inspiration, intuition, for all the fabulous functioning of this human being who we are, come into a center with their forces, come into an experience of meaning that can voice itself as wise action. It is not enough to belong to a Society of Friends who believe in non-violence if, when frustrated, your body spontaneously contracts and shoots out its fist to knock another man down. It is in our bodies that redemption takes place. It is the physicality of the crafts that pleases me: I learn through my hands and my eyes and my skin what I could never learn through my brain.”

M. C. Richards

“Or, by intuition, comes knowledge of everything.”

Yoga Sutra III.34

About Joyce Englander

I teach weekly yoga classes in New York City, which focus on moving mindfully and gracefully with the breath. I believe that learning yoga is similar to learning a language, and the more you are around it the more fluent you become. This blog is an opportunity to share my thoughts and re-visit lessons from class; to create a bridge for students to translate their classroom experience into real life. I am interested in how practicing yoga can help to improve people's lives and reduce needless suffering.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to By Intuition

  1. ArieL says:

    And so by experience we can create wisdom and progress for all.

  2. Moira Brennan says:

    Hello, lovely Joyce. Thank you for this. It’s uncanny to me to come across your post today. On a cold, cold walk early this morning (I’m in Chicago), I was puzzling through this very phenomenon. So many years spent trying to “crack” with my mind whatever problem I imagined there to be. With cunning. Or intelligence. And now I notice with yoga and meditation that change comes with very little involvement of my mind. Change comes from the embodiment of practice. Through body. Strikes me as so profound, and your posting on it just today is like a nice little assist. Thanks! Now I will go find out who M. C. Richards is…
    Hope you’re well!
    Love,
    Moira

    • Hi Moira,
      M.C. Richards was a poet and a potter. She wrote an amazing book called, “Centering”, which I think you would LOVE! I’m so happy to hear we are on the same page today. Hope you have a lovely time in Chicago. Peace, Joyce

Leave a Reply

