Stand Up On Your Head

How old are you? In days? I did my math: 10,687

In hours that would be: 256,488

I’ve been doing yoga daily for 11 years so I’m going to  give a guess and say that I have spent an average of ten minutes a day upside-down this last decade, which equals 40,150 minutes or almost 670 hours.

Well, this is my theory. Life is long. We will walk many steps, sit in many chairs and lay in many beds throughout our lifetime. In all of these activities the most weight bearing part of our spine is our lowback, and of course it was beautifully designed for this purpose. Yet, how many people have low back pain? Learning how to invert our weight, safely, means giving the lowback even just a few minutes off every day.

Headstand isn’t to be taken lightly, and it can take time to learn how to stick those legs up there properly, but when I’m eighty-one years old, I want to be able to give my lowback a time-out from time to time so I’m happy to patiently build that strength now in hopes that the stability will build into my architecture and help to keep my mind and body healthy for decades to come.

More on this subject, and how to Stand Up On Your Head soon…

About Joyce Englander

I teach weekly yoga classes in New York City, which focus on moving mindfully and gracefully with the breath. I believe that learning yoga is similar to learning a language, and the more you are around it the more fluent you become. This blog is an opportunity to share my thoughts and re-visit lessons from class; to create a bridge for students to translate their classroom experience into real life. I am interested in how practicing yoga can help to improve people's lives and reduce needless suffering.
This entry was posted in Practice. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stand Up On Your Head

  1. Pingback: Stand Up On Your Head, Part II | PRACTICE. BREATHE. TEACH.

Leave a Reply

