I’m thankful for my arms

In response to a question posted by yoga journal blogger, Kristen Shepherd. “Have you made peace with any dreaded yoga poses?”

Bakasana. That was the first pose that seemed impossible to me. I had a whole system for stalling. I would put a towel in front of me in case I fell, look around to admire others, criticize my arms for not being able to pull off the balance. Yet I always tried. I would search around for some place where I could put my knees on my arms that wouldn’t make them buckle… Wondering…How is this possible? And who wants to be a crow anyway? After a year or so I found this place, right where my upper arms began to hollow, and if I put my knees there, and elevated my upper back I didn’t actually need my feet on the floor. I could hover. Forming the pose of the crow is empowering – it’s uplifting. It turns out that crows are one of the only animals that have no natural predators, and they are very playful as a result.

What dreaded poses have you made peace with? Maybe your insights will help someone else.

Share here or on Kristen’s blog: http://blogs.yogajournal.com/beginnersmind/2010/11/making-peace.html)

About Joyce Englander

I teach weekly yoga classes in New York City, which focus on moving mindfully and gracefully with the breath. I believe that learning yoga is similar to learning a language, and the more you are around it the more fluent you become. This blog is an opportunity to share my thoughts and re-visit lessons from class; to create a bridge for students to translate their classroom experience into real life. I am interested in how practicing yoga can help to improve people's lives and reduce needless suffering.
This entry was posted in Practice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

